Skip to content ↓


Computing Core Knowledge

KS3 & KS4 Key Words

GCSE computer science 9-1 OCR glossary

Creative iMedia core knowledge

Social Media

Computing Seneca  


Key Stage 3

All students in years 7 and 8 are taught in mixed gender ability groups with two hours per two week cycle.  Many students have a wide range of skills associated with new technologies that can be applied to their studies at school as well as in other aspects of their life.  Computing programming extends their capability – the ability to solve problems using coding and other ICT solutions when and where appropriate.  The programme covers the basics of computer science, digital literacy and information technology.  Computer science looks at the basics of algorithms, binary and programming using Flowol, LOGO, Scratch and an introduction to coding with Python.  Students will find out information using the internet and other large databases, model scenarios through the use of spreadsheets, and communicating through a variety of digital media.  E-safety is also an important aspect of the digital literacy programme.  Students will be given a teacher-assessed grade at the end of each year based upon their work in class, periodic assessments and end of year exam.

Key Stage 4

In year 9, all students have three hours per two-week timetable cycle and will follow a computer science foundation programme, which will look in greater detail than that covered in KS3 providing wider opportunities to code and plan algorithms as well as covering other theoretical aspects of a computer science course. 

Year 9, 10 and 11 optional courses in Computing

Students are able to choose the Cambridge National Level 2 iMedia  course which is available in all 3 years.  In addition, they may choose Computer Science GCSE in years 10 and 11 only; this allows all students to complete the year 9 foundation year before embarking on an examination programme for computing.  In addition to examination courses, students will use a wide range of ICT tools throughout the other curriculum subjects that they study in years 10 or 11.  Computing is a statutory component of the KS4 curriculum though there is no necessity for all students to follow an examination course.